Sheriff’s Deputies Sworn-in as Special Deputy U.S. Marshal’s

On Wednesday, August 13, 2014, nine members of the San Francisco Sheriff’s Department were sworn in as Special Deputy Marshals by Northern District of California United States Marshal Donald O’Keefe. Sheriff Ross Mirkarimi, Undersheriff Federico Rocha and Assistant Sheriff Paul Miyamoto were in attendance at the swearing in ceremony. Undersheriff Rocha is the former Northern District of California United States Marshal, serving from 2003 to 2010.

In addition to their regular assignments with the Sheriff’s Department, the nine Sheriff’s Deputies are part of the Pacific Southwest Regional Fugitive Task Force. In July, Sheriff’s Deputies along with other local, state and federal law enforcement took part in Operation No Boundaries. The operation, led by the U.S. Marshal’s Office, resulted in the arrest of over one hundred violent fugitives.

The nine newly sworn in Special Deputy Marshals are San Francisco Sheriffs’ Lieutenant Shannon, Sergeant Rosen, Sergeant Tuohy, Senior Deputy DeJesus, Senior Deputy Reid and Deputies Burt, Gonzalez, Lawsha and Tam.